ID 24653 • Edition 40th Anniversary 2LP – Black Vinyl • Record Frost and FireBand Cirith UngolRelease date Fri 17 Dec 2021 • Release label Metal Blade Records • Release number 3984-14252-2 • Country EU

40th anniversary edition
incl. Remix and Original Mix
(Remaster from Original Tapes)
180 gram
black vinyl
incl. 8-page 12″ booklet, poster and download code

This year marks the 40th anniversary of Frost and Fire, the groundbreaking album where the legend and lore of Cirith Ungol began. The fabled kings of the dead are celebrating this momentous occasion with a special, multiformat deluxe reissue of Frost and Fire via Metal Blade Records on November 26, 2021. You may know the tales that speak of frost and fire, but youโ€™ve never heard them quite like this.

In 1981, a little-known visionary quartet known as Cirith Ungol released their self-financed debut, Frost and Fire, via their own Liquid Flames Records imprint. In that unassuming moment, the course of heavy metal history changed forever. You see, the world had never experienced a sound quite like Frost and Fire before. It was mystical and obscure, epic and expansive, but most of all bone-crushingly heavy, dark and doom-laden. For all its primitive and primordial qualities, Frost and Fire is also timeless, as earthshaking tracks like โ€œIโ€™m Aliveโ€ and the thunderous title cut remain cornerstones of the Cirith Ungol canon to this day.

In the intervening decades, legions of fans worldwide have been enraptured by Cirith Ungolโ€™s bewitching spell and have fallen under the long shadow cast by these masters of the dark arts. Now, Cirith Ungol invites fans to ride the black machine for a fond look back at Frost and Fire in honor of its 40th anniversary.

  • EU exclusive
  • only 25 signed copies available from the band
  • Incl. Gatefold-Cover, poster, 8-p booklet, download code
  • The displayed image may vary slightly from the actual vinyl.


LP 1 – 40th Anniversary Remix

Side A:

  1. Frost and Fire
  2. I’m Alive
  3. A Little Fire
  4. What Does It Take (Goldmine Mix)

Side B:

  1. Edge Of A Knife
  2. Better Off Dead (Goldmine Mix)
  3. Maybe That’s Why

LP 2 – 2021 Remaster From Original Tapes

Side A:

  1. Frost and Fire
  2. I’m Alive
  3. A Little Fire
  4. What Does It Take

Side B:

  1. Edge Of A Knife
  2. Better Off Dead
  3. Maybe That’s Why

Rights Society: Gema

9 / 100
Support the artists, improve your metal collection, buy records or merchandise of Cirith Ungol Frost Fire ๐Ÿ›’

Frost and Fire

These links are automatic generated links and may not always give the best search result. Sometimes you might need to refine the search after having tried any of these links. Some are affiliates and some are not. If you know about any good deal for 40th Anniversary 2LP – Black Vinyl, don't hesitate to add a link in the comment field or in the forum.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x